Bridget- Guest Post

We lived in Oregon for 8 years at the very beginning of our marriage.  While we lived there we made some amazing friends!  Amongst those friends was Bridget.

 

We first met at church and became friends, at first, as most mothers with young children do, because we have children who are the same age.  Both of our oldest are daughters and the same age.  They became good friends, too!  We began a carpool for our preschool aged children.  We began training for triathlons together, which lead to many hours spent in 24 Hour Fitness lifting weights, body pumping, spinning, and swimming.  We spent gorgeous mornings riding our road bikes in the country.  Eventually, we began trading kids for the weekend so that we could spend some much needed R & R with our husbands!

 

When it came time for our growing family to move on, we were sad to leave our friends behind.  But even though that was 6 years ago, Bridget and I have stayed in contact through blogging and Facebook, and she even planned a baby shower for me when I was pregnant with the twins!  It gave me an excuse to I fly to Oregon with my huge twins belly, all by myself just 2 months before the boys made their entrance into this life!

 

Bridget is an amazing woman!  She married her best friend and now they have 3 beautiful children!  She has always been such an example of selfless service and the importance of being happy and positive in all that life hands you!  She is a woman of great faith and conviction!  Her family is so important to her and she is such a great mom to her kids!  She has blessed my life in so many ways and I am grateful to call her my friend!

 

bridgetfam

I am so excited to have her as my first ever guest blogger!  Yay!

 

Back in June, she was one of my friends who decided to take the 24 day challenge.  I have asked her to share a little bit about her experience with the challenge…

 

Where were you with your health when the 24 day challenge found you?

I have always enjoyed working out religiously so I was in cardiovascular condition. My weight was in the healthy range for my height. However, since having kids, and gradually as I’ve gotten older, I’d accumulated extra weight around my waist. I had that muffin top that just drove me crazy. It made it hard getting pants to fit right. I was already eating healthfully too. I avoided soda, fast food, and junk food. I ate sweets only if they were homemade. I considered my diet pretty darn good. I was really trying to get rid of that stubborn five pounds but it just wasn’t working. I had pretty much resigned to just having a big belly for life.

How did you find out about the 24 day challenge?

I saw Mahina’s post on Facebook and the subsequent link to her blog. Because Mahina and I were workout partners when she lived in Oregon, and I knew her fitness and nutrition habits were already meticulous, I was really intrigued. I had no idea that she had that problem area since having her twins and was also having a hard time getting rid of it. When I saw her before and after pics though I was convinced this was something I was going to try!

Why did you choose to do the 24 day challenge?

Like I said, because I knew Mahina and knew that she was also going from someone who already exercised faithfully and ate right, but was still able to see phenomenal results, I was VERY interested. I have never done a “diet” before and am not a fan of that term at all. In fact, I avoid really considering anything that sounds too radical or faddish because I don’t believe that stuff is good for you. But as I read about it and discovered that it’s really a shift in what you eat for life, I was sold. I figured, worst case scenario was I didn’t lose any weight, in which case I would just go back to eating like I did.

What changes did you experience throughout the 24 days?

I was amazed. Truly amazed. The weight came off little by little every day. My stomach and waist were shrinking but also my thighs and butt shrunk too. It was awesome! I noticed very quickly my pants getting baggy. It was so gratifying! I felt better emotionally, mentally and physically, knowing that the food I was putting in my body was real, good for me food. It was very empowering.

What were your goals at the beginning of the 24 day challenge and what were your final results by the end of the 24 days?

I just wanted to lose 5 lbs. That was really all I thought was realistic for me as a 40 year old. However, I lost 10 lbs by the end of the challenge! And what’s even better, I have since lost five more pounds for a total of a 15lb weight loss. I now weigh what I did in my early twenty’s as a college student. I can’t even believe it.

Image 3Image 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How has the 24 day challenge changed your life?

I have always been a goal setter. I love to set a goal and reach it. I love the feeling of empowerment and motivation I get from knowing I can do something hard. What started off with this challenge as being a “hard thing” actually turned into something I loved. It wasn’t hard at all. I have found I don’t crave sugar or white flour any more. I can make a cake or donuts for my kids and not give it a second glance. I’ve found so many healthy protein packed “sweets” without sugar or any flour that makes me just feel good through and through. I thought it would be hard but it isn’t. Getting rid of the extra midsection weight makes me feel younger too. I feel like my body now matches more of how I feel, young and energized. It’s not perfect, but I’m improving still little by little.

Is there anything else you’d like to share about your experience?

To anyone waffling about whether to do this or not, I just say do it! You won’t regret it for a second. Best decision for my health I’ve made in a long time. My family is now eating more healthfully too. In fact two of my three kids don’t even want to eat sweets any more at all! How awesome is that?! My son is making protein filled smoothies for breakfast every morning instead of pancakes and syrup, my daughter counts to make sure she’s eating her fruits and veggies everyday, and we are just all feeling great.

 

Thank you, Bridget!  I am so proud of what you accomplished during your 24 days!  You truly turned your 24 days, and beyond, into awesomeness!  It brings me so much joy knowing that you have not only changed your own health and life, but that your choices have trickled into the lives of your children and family, as well!  Your decision to choose the 24 day challenge has affected not only you, but those around you and your family tree!!

 

I am going to start a new group challenge coming up very soon!  I’ll be announcing the details within the next few days!!

 

If you are needing a jumpstart to your health, or want to get rid of those last 5 or 10 pounds that just don’t want to leave, or just want to feel your very best, then take the advice from Bridget and “just do it!”  Sometimes you have to just take that chance!  I did and Bridget did, and so many others have, and our lives have changed because of it!

 

Are you ready to take that chance and change your life?

2 thoughts on “Bridget- Guest Post

  1. Thanks for all the kind words, Mahina! So glad you posted about your experience back in June because I never would have done this otherwise!

  2. Pingback: It’s My Anniversary! | This Is Me

Leave a Reply

